Musician’s Page

Rehearsal Schedule

The public is welcome to attend orchestra rehearsals.

 

This schedule is subject to change.  Please check for updates.

 

Rehearsals are generally held in the auditorium at:
The Rose Schnitzer Manor at Cedar Sinai Park
6140 SW Boundary Street
Portland, OR 97221
(503) 535-4000

 

Rehearsals are on Wednesday evenings from 7:00 PM to 9:30 PM.

 

June CONCERT

  • Wednesday, April 11   no rehearsal 
  • Wednesday, April 18
  • Wednesday, April 25
  • Wednesday, May 2
  • Wednesday, May 9
  • Wednesday, May 16
  • Wednesday, May 23
  • Wednesday, May 30
  • Wednesday, June 6
  • Saturday, June 9
    6:00-8:30 P.M.
    Dress rehearsal at Rose Schnitzer Manor
  • Sunday, June 10
    1:30 PM sound check at Mittleman Jewish Community Center
    3:00 PM Concert 

Summer Reading Orchestra

 

Summer Reading Orchestra is a time for the orchestra to get together and read through different music each week, like an impromptu concert.  String members, please invite your friends to join us.  Winds, if you are not playing, please find a sub so that we have full orchestration.

 

Orchestration is provided in parentheses.  There are string parts for each piece.   The orchestration is flute/oboe/clarinet/bassoon – horn/trumpet/trombone/tuba percussion other.  Thus 3222-4231 tmp +3 hp means 3 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, 1 tuba, tympani, 3 percussion instruments and harp.

 

 

  • Wednesday, June 27
    Berlioz – Overture to Le Corsair (2222-4431 tmp)
    Avshalomov –Endgame (3322-4331 tmp + 2 hp)
    Borodin – Symphony No. 2 (3222-4231 tmp +3 hp)

 

  • Wednesday, July 4 – no rehearsal

 

  • Wednesday, July 11
    Lalo – Symphony in g (2222-4431 tmp)
    Copland – Saturday Night Waltz (1131-2210  hp (piano))
    Copland – Hoe-down (3232-4331 tmp + 4  piano)
    Diamond – Rounds for string orchestra

 

  • Wednesday, July 18
    Franck – Symphony in d minor (2332-4431 tmp  hp)
    Goldmark – Scherzo for Orchestra, op. 45 (2222-4230 tmp)
    Beethoven – Fidelio Overture (2222-4220 tmp)
    Mozart – Overture to Marriage of Figaro (2222-2200 tmp)

 

  • Wednesday, July 25
    Reed – La Fiesta Mexicana (3333 – 4331 tmp + 4 hp)
    Mendelssohn – Symphony No. 3 in a minor “Scottish” (2222-4200 tmp)
    Brahms – Tragic Overture (3222-4231 tmp)